Dumaguete City to host Unigames

By Jennifer Catan-Tilos

DUMAGUETE CITY (PIA) – This year’s Philippine University Games (Unigames) with 2,500 athletes will be hosted by Dumaguete City on October 23 to 30 as a continuation to Buglasan Festival celebration in Negros Oriental.

Representatives from 53 colleges and universities from various parts of the country will compete in the 21st edition of  the annual games.

Mayor Felipe “Ipe” Remollo expects the sports tourism and local livelihood will be given a boost with the number of visitors arriving in the city for the games.

The public is free to watch all the games in different playing venues such as Mariano Perdices Coliseum for track and field, Aqua Center for swimming, SU Ballfield for football and archery, Praxivilla Tennis Court for tennis.

The other sports events will be held outside the city.

The colorful spectacle of Negros Oriental’s unique Buglasan Festival of Festivals will culminate on October 23 and it will also welcome the Unigames delegates with a big rave of ‘Kasikas sa Kalye” and fireworks competition.

Some highlights of the Buglasan finale include trade fair, underwater photo contest, and cleanest and greenest school awards, Negorense interactive sport, Silliman University Dance Troupe concert, and Negorense Got Talent Performs.

The organizers are expecting the participating schools to join the Buglasan revelry to give them a chance to discover the beauty of Dumaguete City,

The 53 participating schools joining the UNIGAMES are: Ateneo De Davao University, Adamson University, Arellano University, Central Philippine University, Centro Escolar University, Colegio de la Purisima Concepcion, Colegio de Sta. Ana de Victorias, Cor Jesu College, De la Salle-Araneta University, Silliman University, Foundation University, Negros Oriental State University, De La Salle College of St. Benilde, De La Salle-Lipa Batangas, De La Salle University-Dasmarinas, De La Salle University Manila, Enderun Colleges Metro Manila, Far Eastern University, Father Saturnino Urios University, Hercor College-Roxas City, Holy Angel University-Pampanga, Holy Cross of Davao College, Ilo-ilo Doctors College, Jose Maria College Davao City, La Consolacion College Bacolod, Laguuna Colleges and University Athletic Association, Naga College Foundation,National University-Manila, Philippine State College of Aeronautics, Riverside College-Bacolod City, Rizal Technological University-Mandaluyong City, San Beda College-Manila, Southwestern University-Cebu City, St. Theresa College of Tandag Surigao del Sur, STI West Negros University-Bacolod, Technical University of the Philippines-Manila, University of Bohol, University of Makati, University of Mindanao-Davao City, University of Mindanao-Tagum College, University of Negros Occidental-Recoletos Bacolod, University of Northern Philippines-Vigan City, University of Perpetual Help System-Las Pinas, University of San Agustin – Ilo-ilo City, University of San Carlos-Cebu, University of San Jose Recoletos-Cebu City, University of Santo Tomas, University of St. La Salle – Bacolod City, University of the Immaculate Conception – Davao City, University of the Philippines–Dilliman, University of the Visayas-Cebu, VMA Global College-Bacolod City and Xavier University-Ateneo de Cagayan.   (rmn/jct/PIA7-Negros Oriental/This article was originally published at PIA Website on Sept. 27, 2016)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s