DepEd and SYL names ten Most Inspiring Teachers for 2013

By: Roi Lomotan

DUMAGUETE CITY (PIA) – Department of Education (DepEd), in partnership with non-government organization Saceda Youth Lead (SYL), has announced the Ten Most Inspiring Teachers for 2013.

Teachers who were given recognition by DepEd and the SYL are, namely: Hedelisa B. Decolongon of Davao City National High School, Elfa C. Carona of Bingawan Central School, Iloilo, Ester A. Futalan of DepEd Siaton, Negros Oriental, Ma. Sarah Fatima P. Valencia of Negros Oriental State University (NORSU) Bais City Campus, Negros Oriental, Libertine C. De Guzman of NORSU main campus, Dumaguete City, Expedita O. Duran of Siquijor State College, Siquijor, Chona B. Reyes of Sorsogon City National High School, Sorsogon, Immaculada C. Serenio, Sogod Elementary School, Southern Leyte, Raymund P. Banaticla of University of St. La Salle-Bacolod High School Department and Rosanna S. Gaspay of University of St. La Salle Bacolod Grade School in Bacolod City, Negros Occidental.

The recognition and awarding ceremony was held on Dec. 6 at the SYL Center in Brgy. Candau-ay, this city.

Each of the awardees received a trophy, a certificate, a gold medal, P100,000 insurance, and a free trip to Brunei on March 2014.

The award aims to give recognition to teachers who have been with the DepEd or any academic institution for the past 5-10 years and is also effective and creative in managing the craft of teaching and student development, most especially a source of inspiration and motivation for students and co-teachers in becoming better and responsible citizens of the country.

More importantly, the teacher must have had an impact on the lives of their children.

“Teachers are like little children, as well, they like to be given incentives in what they do may it be internal or external. Teachers, as well, like to be recognized,” said Jovie Despojo of DepEd Regional Office 7.

She added that because of the recognition, teachers are no longer considered as unsung heroes of the country.

Another basis for the award is that the teacher must have participated in at least one SYL Program and has helped in the conduct of SYL programs and initiatives at the school, district or division levels.

SYL Founder Dave Saceda congratulated the winners and lauded them for their passion and dedication to their work and for continuously inspiring their students.

Meanwhile, Dr. Henry Sojor, the event keynote speaker and former Negros Oriental State University president, told teachers not to lose their passion for teaching.

He reminded them of the vital role of teachers in society that every time they are standing in front of the class they contribute to building the future of their pupils.

He also left a challenge for the awardees to help them inspire their students more.

“In teaching we must also perform our miracles that we are going to convert water into wine. The lessons in our books are water, it depends on the teacher to convert that into wine,” Sojor said. (rmn/RAL/PIA7-NEGOR)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s